noob here - I had no idea how many people loved this movie!!

Discuss Lukas Moodysson's first feature film Fucking Åmål (Show me Love).

Moderator: Ian

noob here - I had no idea how many people loved this movie!!

Postby Irishman » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:21 am

Hi all, I recently discovered this forum in my search for a anamorphic widescreen version of FA, and I just wanted to say I had no idea how many people loved this film.

I remember seeing the trailers for FA back in 1999 or 2000 when I was a frequent theatre-goer, and I remember wanting to go see it. (Seeing the American trailer again a few days ago, I'm not sure what made me want to see it). Anyway, none of my friends thought it looked good, so I went by myself when it came out. It was playing in one theatre in the Denver area about 45 minutes drive, but I made the trip. I thought it was an exceptional film. I'm sure this has all been said before, but I thought it was such an accurate portrayal of what it is like being a teenager, dealing with cliques, peer pressure, etc. For me, no other film had really captured teenage angst so well. I got the DVD when it was released several months later and probably watched it a couple more times.

Anyway, I rediscovered the film a few weeks ago when I was digging through a box of CDs/DVDs that I had put in storage several years ago. I pulled the DVD out and put it back with the rest of my collection. After hearing Foreigner on the radio a few days ago, I remember FA and watched a trailer on youtube. That night, I watched the film again for the first time in probably 9 years (so bummed with the non-anamorphic though :shock: ). I had forgotten how much I loved the film. I really had no idea that Alexandra Dahlström was only 14 when the film was made. (What a tremendous performance for someone so young.) Anyway, I am glad to have found that this film has so many fans. I look forward to checking out the forum from time to time.
Irishman
Faithfull Member